143. My Halal Kitchen (Muslim Food Blog)

I wanted to open up a forum where I could share with readers (Muslim or not) the tasty recipes I’ve been fortunate enough to gather from our family and friends around the globe. I also wanted to share kitchen tips, stories about cooking, my thoughts on food, and where you can find all the same things I do to create my halal meals.

Over the last several years, I’ve tried fervently to educate myself on the source of food by-products so that I could avoid ingesting anything impermissible, but also to enjoy my favorite traditional and ethnic foods, only now with halal (permissible) substitutions. For example, I’ve had to master my own chicken parmesan, beef tacos and veal stew because there isn’t a halal restaurant I know of who will serve it up the way I’m used to eating it.

I have also gathered a small collection of trusted companies and stores that offer not only halal products, but ones that are also healthy for us. This has proven to be a challenge when it comes to things like sausages or veal meat because not only are they rare fare finds at halal restaurants, but few grocers provide a good variety of raw and/or deli meats from which to buy and make the dishes myself.

My journey has taken me on a mission to re-create our family favorites of Puerto Rican, Mexican, Sicilian and all other types of Mediterranean dishes, while avoiding as much pre-packaged and low quality food items as possible. I’ve also gained the desire to make more foods from scratch, simply because then I am guaranteed to know exactly what’s inside.  The result has been simply delicious, simply pure, simply… halal.

I hope you will enjoy reading this blog as much as I enjoy creating it for you. May it be of benefit to all, insha’allah, God willing.

Peace to everyone (salaams)…

http://www.myhalalkitchen.com/

One thought on “143. My Halal Kitchen (Muslim Food Blog)

Leave a Reply

